I really should approach my shopping a little differently I suppose. At least that’s what my mother keeps telling me whenever we go food shopping together.   When shopping for my fruit and veg I usually don’t plan ahead of time.  Not what I’m going to buy or any of my meals for the week.  Most of my trips involve me wandering around the market or produce section putting whatever looks good into my basket.  My mother sees me doing this and will ask me just what I plan on making with what I have.  The answer is usually, I don’t know… 

I figure that there are positives and negatives to shopping in this manner. 

A positive about shopping this way is that I don’t have to worry about getting to the store and either not finding what I wanted or finding it and it doesn’t look fresh or appealing.  After all, in many European and Asian countries whose diets we admire people shop this way as well.  They go to the market and buy what is fresh and in season.  

The negative is once I am back in my apartment and have unpacked the bags I look around and have no idea how I am going to make the things that I bought into meals.  This means that I have to get creative and sometimes combine foods in ways that I haven’t had before or use foods in different ways.   Most of the time it works.  Other times, well let just say that I’m glad I tried it out myself before I fed it to any of my friends…

At this point in my life impulse food shopping is working out for me.  At some point, I’m sure that will change and I will have to adjust. 

One thing that I do try to keep in mind during my wandering is not to over buy.  It can be easy especially during spring and summer to want to buy everything as it all looks to fresh and yummy.  When shopping it is important to remember the number of people that you are buying for and not buy more than you need.   You will end of having to throw away product wasting both food and your hard earned dollars. 

Do any of you have any tips for buying you produce?

