So I realize that I haven’t posted in a while, life decided to get just a little bit crazy.  I will admit that a lot of the crazy was/is self imposed and I will be sure to share some of it soon.  I haven’t really had too many things to post on so I thought I would share a bit about dining out.  I know that for many vegans new and old dining out can be an interesting experience to say the least. 

 I feeling like with dining out as a vegan you go through phases (or at least I did).  At first it’s a little intimidating.  You have to speak to the waiter, who may or may not need to speak with the cook who has to speak to the manager.  You may feel like a hassle and hate to put everyone through the trouble.  After a while you eventually get used to the process and it feels like second nature.  I would say that 85 percent of the time I meet with helpful and understanding staff who do not make me feel weird or annoying.  The other times…well I just try to let that go.

 Yesterday, we ate out for lunch and dinner.  For lunch we went to the Cheesecake Factory.  Since becoming vegan I have had very good interactions here.  The wait staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.  There are also very accommodating and willing to veganize anything that there are able.  This time I was interested in something light and fresh.  On their new Skinnylicious menu the have a Fresh Vegetable Salad (Asparagus, Green Beans, Tomato, Cucumber, Roasted Beets, Apple, Edamame, Radicchio, Romaine and White Cheddar All Chopped with SkinnyLicious™ Pomegranate Vinaigrette)  I got the salad without the cheese and with the Chinese Plum dressing.  It was very good and I wasn’t able to eat the whole thing.  The portions here are always sooo big.

 After lunch, we went shopping.  As is usually the case, time got away from us and before we new it, it was dinner time.  We decided to call it a day and find something to eat for dinner.  The easiest place for us to get to was Uno’s so we choose to just go there.  At lunch, I was able to speak with the waiter and he went into the kitchens to confirm everything with the salad.  For dinner it was a little different.  Different restaurants have different policies concerning special diets.  At Uno’s my questions about ingredients flagged as allergies so the manager had to come out to go over what I could and could not have and confirm my order.  I was able to get the Harvest Vegetable pizza without the cheese or caramelized onions on the five grain dough (they can special bake the thick crust for you if you ask, but the traditional pizza dough contains cheese).  I ordered the half pizza as I wasn’t that hungry.  I was hungry enough to forget to take a picture though.  It was very tasty and it was exactly what I was in the mood for. 

 All and all it was a good girls day out with lots of yummy food along the way 🙂

