So, the craziness that I have added to my life recently is running.  Now for a lot of people adding a workout or running into their routine is nothing big.  For me however, it is huge.  As much as I am into health and nutrition I have never liked to workout.  I do yoga when the mood strikes me, but that is about it.  Recently, I have got it into my head that I want to run the Disney Princess Half Marathon this coming February.  So much so that I have already signed up for the race and purchased my flight.  The real motivation for me is not even the fitness goal of running 13.1 miles, though that is a total bonus.  I am in it to run around Disney World with a tiara on, take lots of pictures with the Princes and Princesses and get a fancy medal to hang on my wall (can’t wait till they release the design!).  Now all I have to do is teach myself how to run.

I have been working on it for about three weeks now and am surprised how much that I don’t hate it.  I don’t love it, but I don’t hate it.  My training schedule is one that I have adopted from Olympian Jeff Galloway’s method.  I will start his official Princess Half training program in October, but am using his run/walk interval strategy to get my body used to the idea.  My current intervals are run 30 seconds/ walk 30 seconds.  One Tuesdays and Thursdays I do this for 30 minutes no matter the distances and on every Saturday I go 3 miles.  This program is working really well for me.  It is enough that I am already seeing and feeling progress in my fitness, but not too much that I feel burnt out. 

Now that some of the background is out of the way, that brings us up to this past weekend and my first official 5k race! About a week and a half ago I mentioned that I had started running to my coworker and before I knew it I had somehow gotten talked into running a 5k with him and his wife.  Now they are both runner and like I mentioned I have just started.  My only goal for this race was to not embarrass myself too much (a little I knew was unavoidable…)

Good News! I made it to the end, I wasn’t last and I didn’t pass out (though it was incredible hot and humid).  All and all it was a successful first face and gave me a bit of an idea about how races work.  This is the only picture I remembered to take that day.  It is awful and was taken just after the end so please excuse it. 

My time ended up being 37:05, which is a just under a 12 minute mile.  Not too bad, considering I had less than 3 weeks of training under my belt.  My training runs have been faster, but none had been in weather like we had on race day.  It was good practice for me, especially considering I have a 10k that I will run in November that will count for time.  In order to get into a good starting corral for the Princess Race I need to submit proof of time for a race 10k or longer by December 1st.  The better corral placement you have the more of a cushion for finishing you have.  I’m hoping to do well enough to not be in the last corral. 

