Fresh ginger root is something that I nearly always have in my kitchen.  I use fresh ginger in many of my dishes and stir frys.  I also love to bake with ginger, in my opinion spiced cakes and cookies are some of the best parts of Fall and Winter.  It has only been in the past year or so that I have started to make note of the health benefits of ginger. 

The benefits of ginger are quite numerous and it has been used medicinally for centuries.  Though I admit the health benefits are not my primary reasons for eating ginger or drinking ginger tea (I have it simply because is tastes good), they are important to note. 

  • Ginger makes for a wonderfully effective anti-nausea remedy, helping with your upset stomach, motion sickness and its one of the only safe and effective ways to relive morning sickness.  In a similar fashion ginger can also be used as a treatment for heartburn. 
  • Ginger acts as a pain reliever and anti-inflammatory.  Regular consumption of ginger helps relive arthritis pain and increase mobility.  Ginger can also help relieve migraine and menstrual pain. 
  • Some studies have also shown that ginger helps prevent colorectal cancer and helps in the treatment of ovarian cancer.
  • Ginger is good for the immune system, acting as a detoxifier and helping with the recovery from cold and flu

I started drinking ginger in the form of tea earlier this year.  Though I cook with ginger often I would never really work my way through the whole ginger root that I purchase.  One day I looked up different ways to use ginger and came across the idea of ginger tea.  I had known that ginger was an ingredient in many of the herbal teas that I liked, but hadn’t really thought about just making a tea out of it on its own.  One morning I decided to give it a try and have been drinking it fairly regularly ever since. 

Ginger Tea

  • 1-2 cups of hot water
  • About 5 thin slices of fresh ginger root

 Brew the slices of ginger root in a pot of hot water for 15-20 minutes for the best flavor.  I have brewed the tea for less time in the past and you do get the ginger flavor, but it is slight.  For best taste and benefits let the tea brew for the recommended time. 

 *information on ginger gathered by crosschecking multiple herbal/medical websites. 

