Lush has a newly added storefront in a mall that I go to fairly often.  I first discovered it in the beginning of the summer and between the staff and the products I knew that this was a store that I was going to spent way too much money in…lol

Lush Cosmetics is a company that after doing some research I find that I like.  They are a cosmetic company that does not believe in animal testing and whose majority of products are vegan.  They label all of the vegan products with a V on the top label.  I love that I don’t have to spend forever reading the ingredients and trying to figure out if such and such ingredient comes from a plant based or animal based source. 

 They have a really great mission statement which some companies that are accidentally vegan do not.  I was able to copy this directly from their website. http://www.lushusa.com

We believe in making effective products from fresh, organic fruit and vegetables, the finest essential oils and safe synthetics.

We invent our own products and fragrances. We make them fresh by hand using little or no preservative or packaging, using only vegetarian ingredients, and tell you when they were made.

We believe in buying ingredients only from companies that do not commission tests on animals and in testing our products on humans.

We believe in happy people making happy soap, putting our faces on our products and making our mums proud.

We believe in long candlelit baths, sharing showers, massage, filling the world with perfume and in the right to make mistakes, lose everything and start again.

We believe our products are good value, that we should make a profit and that the customer is always right.

I have had a really hard time finding vegan cosmetics that I actually like.  For make-up I use bare-essentials, but for things like shampoo and conditioner I haven’t found anything that that works well (or doesn’t cost a million dollars). 

 On my last visit I decided to try one of their shampoo bars and their conditioning bar.  I bought the godiva 2 in 1 shampoo bar (scented with jasmine) and since  2 in 1 is not usually enough conditioning for my hair I also got the Jungle conditioning bar.

 

I really like the shampoo and it smells amazing.  It works really well with my hair and doesn’t dry it out.  This is really nice because as much as I loved the shampoo, I didn’t like the conditioner.  The bar was too solid and doesn’t lather well.  It also leaves my hair feeling dryer using it than not.  Because of this the bar conditioner gets a negative review, and will not be repurchased.  My thoughts on the shampoo bar though are the opposite and I will definitely be back to get it again.  I also look forward to trying some of the other products that they have; everything from bath bombs to face moisturizer to make-up.  Can’t wait!

 

*all reviews of products are unpaid and are based purely on my own opinion. 

